Over 200 people celebrated the 2017 Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour season Saturday night at the Delta Hotel in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island where Shawn Turple (Enfield, NS) was officially crowned champion for the third time in his Pro Stock Tour career. Turple also took home the title in 2009 and 2012. Only seven drivers have won the prestigious title in the Series’ 17-year history. As champion, Turple received $10,000 from series sponsor Parts for Trucks and an exquisite championship ring specially made by Inglis Jewelers.

Jarrett Butcher (Porters Lake, NS) took home the Exide Batteries Rookie of the Year Award after a hard-fought battle with a solid freshman class of 2017. Stephen Lively (Shubenacadie, NS), Nicholas Naugle (Dartmouth, NS) and Robbie MacEwen (Sherwood, PE) all had great seasons and will be drivers to watch in 2018.

Numerous contingency awards were also presented at the event. Dylan Gosbee (Cornwall, PE) was the recipient of the EIT Race Radios Consistency Award as the highest finishing driver without a feature win. 2016 series champion Cole Butcher (Porter’s Lake, NS) took home the Linde Most Laps Led Award.

Various vendor draws were made to eligible teams in attendance at the Delta Prince Edward. Management from R&D Performancenter of Lower Onslow, Nova Scotia presented Robbie MacEwen (Charlottetown, PE) with a $300 gift certificate, while Stephen Lively (Shubenacadie, NS) won a Miller electric welder courtesy of Linde.

Three race series sponsor Lucas Oil presented $750 product sponsorships to Greg Proude (Springvale, PE), Darren MacKinnon (Charlottetown, PE) and Kent Vincent (Crapaud, PE) as chosen by random draw.

One of the most prestigious awards on the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour, the Cathy Ledwidge Memorial Most Sportsmanlike Driver Award, went to Kent Vincent as voted by his fellow competitors. Vincent is a multi-time winner of this award.

Darren MacKinnon won the popular Irving Oil Blending & Packaging Fan Favourite Award. The award winner is selected by fans on MaritimeProStockTour.com who voted for their favourite drivers. MacKinnon received a $500 cash award and a skid of product courtesy of Irving.

Todd Sheriff of Parts for Trucks presented a cheque for $6,000 to the Scott Kelly Memorial Toy Fund at the IWK Children’s Hospital. One hundred percent of the series hat and t-shirt sales each season are donated to the charity. Parts for Trucks has donated over $45,000 to the Scott Kelly Memorial Toy Fund.

With the annual Awards Gala, the 2017 Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour season is complete. The focus now shifts to the 18th edition of the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour, which is scheduled to start in Spring 2018. For complete information on the series and the upcoming season as it becomes available fans are encouraged to check out www.maritimeprostocktour.com or follow the series on Twitter and Facebook @prostocktour.

source – series communications (edited)